Bookmark and Share

County Clerk

Notaries

(845) 291-2698

New York State Law requires the licensing and testing of notaries. The information packet, including instructions, test dates and locations is available at the County Clerk’s Office and from www.dos.ny.gov . To qualify to become a Notary Public, you must be at least 18 years of age, a U.S. citizen, a resident of New York State (or work for a business which is located in New York State), and have no prior felony convictions.

The fee to take the exam is $15.00, due on the date of the exam, payable by check or money order to the Department of State. Cash is NOT accepted.

Out of state residents, including attorneys admitted to the NYS Bar, must have their office or place of business within the State of New York to qualify as a Notary Public

Upon notification of passing the written test, it is your responsibility to mail the application with the notification to the Department of State in Albany, with a check for $60.00. Your application will be reviewed and if a license is issued, it will be valid for four years.

If you are a notary in another county and wish to also file in Orange County, we will need an Oath of Official Character from that county ($5.00 fee) and a check payable to the Orange County Clerk for $10.00.

Notary Public commissions are good for 4 years. Prior to your expiration date you should receive an "invitation to renew" in the mail, which you return to the County Clerk's Office with the $60 fee.

If your name, address or other personal information changes, you are required to notify the Department of State, Licensing, 99 Washington Avenue, Albany, NY 12231-0002 (GPS use zip code 12210) or call the office (518) 474-4429.

A notary applicant address is subject to disclosure under the Freedom of Information Law. If you do not want your residence address released, please provide a business address on both parts (upper & lower) of the renewal form.

For further information, please visit www.dos.ny.gov .

FAQ

  1. How do I authenticate a notary’s signature?
    Bring or mail in the document that is notarized. The fee is $3 per document. We can only authenticate the signatures of notaries public commissioned in Orange County.
  2. I did not receive my renewal form, how do I renew without it?
    Please call us for a long-form renewal (845) 291-2698 or (845) 291-2699
  3. I submitted my notary renewal, but haven’t received my new ID card. Was it processed?
    Your ID card will be sent to you from Albany in about 3 months.
  4. I’ve been told my document must be ‘apostilled’. What does that mean?
    An authentication certifies the signature and the position of the official who has executed, issued or certified a copy of a document. Once your document has the County Clerk’s seal on it, you can present the document to NYS – Dept. of State for the Apostille. Please go to www.dos.ny.gov/corps/apostille.html  for further information. Apostilles are generally used outside of the US.